Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

Isaiah Dunn Saves The Day

Isaiah Dunn Saves The Day

Starting middle school is no joke! Isaiah Dunn has more to say in the sequel to the award-winning novel Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero. Friendship, community, and a love of words blend in this coming-of-age tale. Things are looking up for super kid Isaiah Dunn. He and his little sister, Charlie, are getting used to staying with Miz Rita, and Mama's feeling better. Isaiah's poetry business with Angel is taking off, and his best friend, Sneaky, always has a new hustle. Plus, Isaiah has his dad's journals for a story or if he needs advice.... Like maybe now, because starting middle school is hard. Especially when his mentee Kobe won't stop making trouble. Isaiah knows something is up, but to get to the bottom of Kobe's secret, he'll have to rely on every hero he knows--including himself! Discover the heartfelt and humorous sequel to the award-winning novel Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Kelly J. Baptist
Publisher : Crown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2022-08-02
Total Pages : 193 Pages
ISBN : 9780593429235


The Swag Is In The Socks

The Swag Is In The Socks

Xavier Moon is stepping out of the shadows when his great-uncle gives him some outlandish socks and some even stranger requests. A story about heart, confidence, and standing on your own two feet that is perfect for fans of The Season of Styx Malone and The Parker Inheritance. "An excellent read-alike to Jacqueline Woodson’s Harbor Me or Janae Marks’ From the Desk of Zoe Washington.” –Booklist, Starred Review "A warm but authentic picture of a middle schooler figuring out who he is and who he wants to be." –The Bulletin Xavier Moon is not one to steal the show. He’s perfectly content to play video games and sit at his bedroom window watching the neighborhood talk outside. But for Xavier’s twelfth birthday, he receives a pair of funky socks and a challenge from his great-uncle, Frankie Bell, saying it’s time to swag out and speak up. First on the list: get into the legendary Scepter League. Xavier’s grandfather, great-uncle, and father were all invited to join the elite boys’ after-school club that admits only the most suave and confident young men. Xavier has never had the courage to apply before, but his wild socks are getting him some big attention, so maybe it’s time to come out of the shadows and follow in his family's footsteps. Or maybe Xavier will march down a new path altogether.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Kelly J. Baptist
Publisher : Crown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2021-11-02
Total Pages : 240 Pages
ISBN : 9780593380888


The Electric Slide And Kai

The Electric Slide And Kai

Everyone in the Donovan family can dance--and has a dance nickname--except Kai, but his family helps him practice his moves to prepare for his aunt's wedding reception.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Kelly Baptist
Publisher : Lee & Low Books
Release : 2021
Total Pages : 40 Pages
ISBN : 1643790528


Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero

"Isaiah is now the big man of the house. But it's a lot harder than his dad made it look. His little sister, Charlie, asks too many questions, and Mama's gone totally silent. Good thing Isaiah can count on his best friend, Sneaky, who always has a scheme for getting around the rules. Plus, his classmate Angel has a few good ideas of her own--once she stops hassling Isaiah. And when things get really tough, there's Daddy's journal, filled with stories about the amazing Isaiah Dunn, a superhero who gets his powers from beans and rice. Isaiah wishes his dad's tales were real. He could use those powers right about now!"--

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Kelly J. Baptist
Publisher : Yearling
Release : 2021-06
Total Pages : 208 Pages
ISBN : 9780593121399


Ikenga

Ikenga

Nnedi Okorafor's acclaimed first novel for middle grade readers introduces a boy who can access super powers with the help of the magical Ikenga. Nnamdi's father was a good chief of police, perhaps the best Kalaria had ever had. He was determined to root out the criminals that had invaded the town. But then he was murdered, and most people believed the Chief of Chiefs, most powerful of the criminals, was responsible. Nnamdi has vowed to avenge his father, but he wonders what a twelve-year-old boy can do. Until a mysterious nighttime meeting, the gift of a magical object that enables super powers, and a charge to use those powers for good changes his life forever. How can he fulfill his mission? How will he learn to control his newfound powers? Award-winning Nnedi Okorafor, acclaimed for her Akata novels, introduces a new and engaging hero in her first novel for middle grade readers set against a richly textured background of contemporary Nigeria.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Nnedi Okorafor
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2020-08-18
Total Pages : 240 Pages
ISBN : 9780593113547


Flying Lessons Other Stories

Flying Lessons Other Stories

Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold short story collection—written by some of the best children’s authors including Kwame Alexander, Meg Medina, Jacqueline Woodson, and many more and published in partnership with We Need Diverse Books—celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us. "Will resonate with any kid who's ever felt different—which is to say, every kid." —Time Great stories take flight in this adventurous middle-grade anthology crafted by ten of the most recognizable and diverse authors writing today. Newbery Medalist Kwame Alexander delivers a story in-verse about a boy who just might have magical powers; National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson spins a tale of friendship against all odds; and Meg Medina uses wet paint to color in one girl’s world with a short story that inspired her Newbery award-winner Merci Suárez Changes Gear. Plus, seven more bold voices that bring this collection to new heights with tales that challenge, inspire, and celebrate the unique talents within us all. AUTHORS INCLUDE: Kwame Alexander, Kelly J. Baptist, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Peña, Tim Federle, Grace Lin, Meg Medina, Walter Dean Myers, Tim Tingle, Jacqueline Woodson “There’s plenty of magic in this collection to go around.” —Booklist, Starred “A natural for middle school classrooms and libraries.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred “Inclusive, authentic, and eminently readable.” —School Library Journal, Starred “Thought provoking and wide-ranging . . . should not be missed.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred “Read more books by these authors.” —The Bulletin, Starred

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Ellen Oh
Publisher : Crown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2017-01-03
Total Pages : 240 Pages
ISBN : 9781101934616


Johnny Long Legs

Johnny Long Legs

Even though he is the tallest member of the basketball team, a young boy finds he is far from being the best player.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Matt Christopher
Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2009-12-19
Total Pages : 133 Pages
ISBN : 9780316093927


The House Of Madame M

The House Of Madame M

Are you lost? Come in! You're in luck--there's no one here just now. Shhh . . . Be as quiet as you can, and very, very careful! In The House of Madame M, we explore a strange house: hallway, living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Each room is full of surprises to make even the bravest shiver. Are we in the house of an ogre? A witch? Something else altogether? This visit to Madame M's brings the thrill of finding what lurks in the wardrobe, behind the door, tucked under the furniture. Full of humor and detail, it will mesmerize readers of all ages.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Clotilde Perrin
Publisher :
Release : 2019-10
Total Pages : 10 Pages
ISBN : 9781776572748


Race To The Bottom Of The Earth

Race To The Bottom Of The Earth

Equal parts adventure and STEM, Rebecca E. F. Barone's Race to the Bottom of the Earth: Surviving Antarctica is a thrilling nonfiction book for young readers chronicling two treacherous, groundbreaking expeditions to the South Pole—and includes eye-catching photos of the Antarctic landscape. "Riveting! I raced to the end of this book!" —Alan Gratz, New York Times bestselling author of Refugee In 1910, Captain Robert Scott prepared his crew for a trip that no one had ever completed: a journey to the South Pole. He vowed to get there any way he could, even if it meant looking death in the eye. Then, not long before he set out, another intrepid explorer, Roald Amundsen, set his sights on the same goal. Suddenly two teams were vying to be the first to make history—what was to be an expedition had become a perilous race. In 2018, Captain Louis Rudd readied himself for a similarly grueling task: the first unaided, unsupported solo crossing of treacherous Antarctica. But little did he know that athlete Colin O’Brady was training for the same trek—and he was determined to beat Louis to the finish line. For fans of Michael Tougias’ The Finest Hours, this gripping account of two history-making moments of exploration and competition is perfect for budding scientists, survivalists, and thrill seekers. "A nail-biting tale of adventure, tragedy, and superhuman determination—and also a luminous example of how our present lives are shaped by our immeasurably deep connection to our past." —Elizabeth Wein, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity "A huge treat for adventure story fans—not one, but two incredible races across the fearsome and fascinating Antarctic!" —Steve Sheinkin, New York Times bestselling author of Bomb and Undefeated

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Author : Rebecca E. F. Barone
Publisher : Henry Holt and Company (BYR)
Release : 2021-01-05
Total Pages : 304 Pages
ISBN : 9781250257819


Darryl S Dream

Darryl S Dream

From hip-hop pioneer Darryl “DMC” McDaniels comes Darryl’s Dream, a new picture book about creativity, confidence, and finding your voice. Meet Darryl, a quiet third grader with big hopes and dreams. He loves writing and wants to share his talents, but he’s shy—and the kids who make fun of his glasses only make things worse. Will the school talent show be his chance to shine? Darryl’s Dream, by iconic performer Darryl "DMC" McDaniels, is a story about finding confidence, facing bullies, and celebrating yourself. This full-color picture book is certain to entertain children and parents with its charming art and important message.

Download now

Product Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author : Darryl "DMC" McDaniels
Publisher : Random House Books for Young Readers
Release : 2022-01-04
Total Pages : 32 Pages
ISBN : 9780593488300